The Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments

Moses Ten Commandments

Exodus 20:1-17 (NIV)
1  And God spoke all these words:
2 “I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.
3 “You shall have no other gods before me.
4 “You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below.
5 You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me,
6 but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.
7 “You shall not misuse the name of the LORD your God, for the LORD will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name.
8 “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.
9 Six days you shall labour and do all your work,
10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the LORD your God. On it you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your manservant or maidservant, nor your animals, nor the alien within your gates.
11 For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.
12 “Honour your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you.
13 “You shall not murder.
14 “You shall not commit adultery.
15 “You shall not steal.
16 “You shall not give false testimony against your neighbour.
17 “You shall not covet your neighbour’s house. You shall not covet your neighbour’s wife, or his manservant or maidservant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbour.”

See how the Ten Commandments Apply Today: Good News of Jesus Christ.

The Ten Commandments Short List:

God’s Law is revealed in the Ten Commandments.

  1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
  2. You shall not make idols.
  3. You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.
  4. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
  6. You shall not murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  10. You shall not covet.
The Ten Commandments
The Ten Commandments

The Law of God: Contained within the first five books of the Old Testament and summarised in the Ten Commandments and Jesus summary of them, was given to show us our need for God’s GRACE and Mercy, because no one could be justified in God’s sight by observing the Law, because no one could keep the Law or live by the standards of the Ten Commandments. The New Testament reveals the functions / purposes God had in giving us His Royal Standard.

Galatians 3:24-26:

“Wherefore the law was our schoolmaster to bring us unto Christ, that we might be justified by faith. But after that faith is come, we are no longer under a schoolmaster. For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.”

The job of a Schoolmaster is to TEACH: So the law was to educate and teach us that we needed to be saved from God’s wrath some other way, than by trying to observe the Law that was impossible for us to keep. That’s why the Sacrificial system was introduced by the LORD, to provide a way for His chosen people to be cleansed and forgiven through the death of something innocent taking the place of the guilty party.

So Christians are not saved by what they do or how they live, but by God’s GRACE through FAITH in Christ Jesus. Yes Christians will want to live a pure and holy life for God, but that’s because He has filled their hearts with His love through the Holy Spirit that indwells everyone who’s trusted in Christ. It’s our love for our Father that will make us want to live His way and it’s the Power of the Holy Spirit that enables us to live righteously.